Physical Geography and Earth Systems Science

Our research focuses on the interaction between spheres, specifically the impact of environmental change on surface processes, ecohydrology and geochemical cycles and their consequences for environmental services. Conceptually, we transfer the analytical concepts of Earth System Sciences into smaller domains to study the impact of both natural and man-made environmental change on landscape systems. Our approach combines monitoring and experiments with GIS, remote sensing and environmental modelling. Based on an understanding of the functioning of a landscape system, this combination enables the identification of the spatial extent and relevance of a particular combination of landscape properties and reaction to change.

 

Interaction of surface processes and vegetation at the foot of the Eiger North Face (left): in a mountainous environment the presence or absence of soil as well as disturbances (natural and man-made) determine the distribution of trees. On such regional scale climate change has therefore only a limited impact. The change of tree and forest cover between 1898 and 2008 (right) shows hardly any reaction to warming, but mostly to land use change. (Source: www.geogr-helv.net/67/15/2012/gh-67-15-2012.pdf)

Interaction between humans, Vegetation and watercourses: the invasive species impatiens glandulira outcompetes native woody plants along watercourses in Europe, leaving soils near the river banks unprotected. As a consequence, erosion increases by an order of magnitude, changing river ecology and channel geomorphology.

Project: Impatiens glandulifera and its influence on the ecohydromorphic functioning of inland watercourses

Our general research interests fall into three categories of projects

Surface processes and geochemical cycles

Soil erosion is a part of Earth’s geochemical cycles. Land use change by humans has accelerated erosion and thus affected geochemical cycles. Our research combines the study of soil erosion and the Carbon and Phosphorous cycles. Experimental work on the movement and deposition of sediment and the subsequent fate of the eroded substances is linked to field sampling and monitoring as well as GIS-based extrapolation of those results to larger, slope to global scales.

Erosion, transport and deposition of soil. The redistribution of soil affects spatial patterns of carbon and nutrient stocks across a landscape and their interaction with vegetation, hydrosphere and climate.


Projects:
Movement and Fate of eroded soil organic matter in small catchments
Interill Carbon in the global Carbon Cycle
Phosphorous erosion potential of rivers banks in Denmark
Biochar erosion in Denmark

Use of a modified Griffith tube for the frachtionation of sediment.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLHRSFvK9Uw

Land use change in southern Africa

Southern Africa is both ecologically as well as economically and politically one of the most diverse and dynamic regions on planet Earth. This renders the region as one oft he most interesting to study human-environment interaction, but offers also the opportunity to make a contribution to the sustainable development both of the region, but also on a global scale by protecting biodiversity and fostering livelihoods to maintain political stability. Our research focuses on land use in communal land in northern Namibia and the establishment of nature conservancies in the South African Karoo highlands on private land.

Small-scale farming in Northern Namibia is 
seen as an economic dead end by many farmers, but is subject to a development effort by governments, NGOs and multinational agro-business who consider increased production as a way to both improve livelihoods locally and increase food security globally.

Projects:
Potential of Payment for Environmental Services to Develop Small-Scale Farmers
Communal land reform in Namibia - Implications of Individualisation of land tenure
Land Degradation and Carbon Storage in the Karoo region of South Africa
Deforestation and land degradation in north eastern Namibia

Experimental Geosciences

A particular highlight of the environmental research in Basel is the development and application of innovative experiments to study surface processes in a wide range of environments. Our experiments aim at identifying system interactions requiring a better understanding in future climate or land use, or because exploration has just opened up new frontiers to be studied, such as the surface of Mars.   

 

Wind affects the kinetic energy of falling raindrops. Under constant climatic conditions, ignoring the effect of varying wind simply reduces the quality of model outputs by a given margin. Changing climate, and thus wind-driven rain, on the other hand, potentially has unknown effects on runoff, erosion and sediment quality.

Video of Sediment Transport by Rain Impacted Flow

Project:
Relevance and physics of wind-driven rainfall erosion

Physiogeographie als Erdsystemwissenschaft

Unsere Forschung verfolgt einen erdsystemwissenschaftlichen Ansatz und konzentriert auf die Erkundung von Wirkungsgefügen innerhalb und insbesondere zwischen den Sphären der Erde. Schwerpunkte bilden dabei das Zusammenwirken von Klima, Wasser und Boden, einschliesslich der Folgen der Veränderung der Umwelt durch den Menschen. Neben Felderhebungen, Monitoring und geographischen Informationssystemen kommen insbesondere experimentelle Verfahren zum Einsatz, da sie die Möglichkeit bieten jenseits des aktuell zu beobachtenden Systems Erde räumlich und zeitlich unzugängliche Situationen zu simulieren.

 

Wirkungsgefüge Vegetation-Oberfläche an der Eigernordwand: im Gebirge bestimmt das Vorhandensein von Boden und das Störungsregime (natürlich und durch den Menschen) über die Ausbreitung von Wald.  Regional spielt die Veränderung von Klima daher nur eine untergeordnete Rolle für die Veränderung der Waldgrenze, wie ein Vergleich der Waldbedeckung in der Region Grindelwald für das vergangene Jahrhundert zeigt. (Quelle: http://www.geogr-helv.net/67/15/2012/gh-67-15-2012.pdf)

Interaktion zwischen Mensch, Vegetation und Fluss: die Verdrängung von Bäumen und Gebüschen durch drüsiges Springkraut führt zu einer Destabilisierung des Bodens in Talauen und somit zu mehr Erosion sowohl bei Niederschlag wie auch bei Hochwasser.

Projektdetails: Impatiens glandulifera and its influence on the ecohydromorphic functioning of inland watercourses

Thematisch und methodisch werden in der Forschungsgruppe folgende Schwerpunkte verfolgt.

Oberflächenprozesse & Stoffkreisläufe

Bodenerosion ist ein natürlicher Teil der Stoffkreisläufe der Erde. Durch die Veränderung der Landnutzung hat der Mensch sowohl die Bodenerosion verstärkt wie auch die durch Bodenerosion bestimmten Stoffkreisläufe verändert. Die Forschungsgruppe Physiogeographie und Umweltwandel konzentriert sich insbesondere auf die Folgen von Bodenerosion auf den Kohlenstoff- und Phosphorkreislauf. Experimentelle Arbeit zum Verhalten von erodierter organischer Bodensubstanz wird dabei mit Felduntersuchungen zu Erosion und Ablagerung  ergänzt. Regionale Schwerpunkte liegen in der Nordwestschweiz, der Eifel, Dänemark und in Südafrika.

 

Erosion, Transport und Ablagerung von Boden. Die Umlagerung von Boden beeinflusst die Verteilung von Kohlenstoff und Phosphor in der Landschaft und den Austausch von Treibhausgasen mit der Atmosphäre.

Projektdetails:
Movement and Fate of eroded soil organic matter in small catchments
Interill Carbon in the global Carbon Cycle
Phosphorous erosion potential of rivers banks in Denmark
Biochar erosion in Denmark

Anwendung einer modifizierten Griffith Settling Tube zur Fraktionierung von Sediment https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLHRSFvK9Uw

Landnutzungswandel im südlichen Afrika

Das südliche Afrika ist sowohl geoökologisch wie auch sozioökonomisch eine der vielfältigsten und dynamischsten Regionen der Erde. Dies ermöglicht einerseits die Erforschung der Interaktionen zwischen Mensch und Umwelt, andererseits kann auch ein angewandter Beitrag zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung und dem Schutz der globalen Umwelt der Region geleistet werden. Schwerpunkte der Forschungsarbeit sind die Landnutzung im nördlichen Namibia und dem semiariden Karoo-Hochland in Südafrika.

Kleinbäuerliche Landwirtschaft im Norden Namibias ist einerseits durch fehlende ökonomische Perspektiven für viele Bauern eine Sackgasse, sie wird dennoch von Regierungen, NGOs und Unternehmen als Entwicklungsmöglichkeit zur lokalen Armutsbekämpfung wie auch der globalen Sicherung der Nahrungsmittelproduktion betrachtet.

Projektdetails:
Potential of Payment for Environmental Services to Develop Small-Scale Farmers
Communal land reform in Namibia - Implications of Individualisation of land tenure
Land Degradation and Carbon Storage in the Karoo region of South Africa
Deforestation and land degradation in north eastern Namibia

Experimentelle Umweltforschung

Ein besonderes Merkmal der Baseler Physiogeographie ist die Entwicklung und Anwendung von experimentellen Verfahren zur Erforschung von Oberflächenprozessen. Experimente dienen dabei entweder der Identifikation von bisher wenig bekannten Prozesszusammenhängen, beispielsweise des Einflusses von Wind auf Bodenerosion, oder der Quantifizierung von Wirkungsgefügen, beispielsweise zwischen der Niederschlagsfrequenz, Verwitterung und Erosion.Zusätzlich zur Erfassung der aktuellen Situation können durch Experimente auch Szenarien simuliert werden, wie sie im Zuge des globalen Klimawandels zu erwarten sind.

Wind beeinflusst die kinetische Energie und die Tropfeneigenschaften des fallenden Regens. Unter konstanten klimatischen Bedingungen führt die Nichtbeachtung dieses Effekts lediglich zu einer erhöhten Variabilität in der Beziehung zwischen Niederschlag und Erosion. Bei einer Veränderung des Klimas kann diese Variabilität sich jedoch systematisch in eine Richtung verändern und muss daher auf einer Prozessebene verstanden werden um mögliche Auswirkungen auf das System Erde verstehen und prognostizieren zu können.

Video: Wirkungsgefüge Abfluss-Niederschlag & Erosion

Projektdetails:
Relevance and physics of wind-driven rainfall erosion